18 Wonderful Facts About The Yukon

The Yukon is a vast territory with a beautiful and unique landscape. It has a strong aboriginal culture, which is reflected in everything from the cuisine to sports. Below are 18 wonderful facts about The Yukon.

1. Yukon is the smallest of Canada’s 3 territories.

2. Its capital city and largest city is Whitehorse.

3. It is a huge piece of land, but has a very small population. An estimated 41,022 people call the Yukon home; this is less people than all of the other territories and provinces in Canada.

4. 90% of the population lives in the capital of Whitehorse.

5. The Yukon joined the Canadian confederation on June 13, 1898, the 9th entity to join.

6. The province is named after the Yukon River, a major river in North America’s northwest. It is the longest river in the territory.

7. The Yukon’s Mount Logan is the tallest mountain in Canada (19,551 feet).

8. The Yukon’s neighbours are British Columbia, the State of Alaska, the Northwest Territories and the Arctic Ocean to the north.

9. The territory recognizes both French and English as its official languages.

10. Before 1898, the Yukon used to be a part of the Northwest Territories.

11. The official flower of the Yukon is the Fireweed.

12. Fun activities for people coming to visit: canoeing, kayaking, hiking, skiing, hunting, angling, fishing and more.

13. Because the Yukon has such a small population and almost everything is imported (food, etc is expensive), the average annual income is around $75,000 CAD per year. This is the 3rd highest in all of Canada.

14. The Yukon is known primarily for mining; gold, silver, copper, zinc, etc. Other major industries are clothing, and manufacturing.

15. The territory’s GDP is also very small at $3 billion dollars Canadian.

16. Climate: winters are long and very cold. Summers are short, but reasonably warm. It’s really beautiful during the summer, a great time to go fishing and hiking. But it is the coldest place in Canada.

17. First Nations called the Yukon home long before Europeans came along.

18. The Yukon has 3 national parks and a staggering 12 National Historic Sites of Canada.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 3 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

What do you think?

Written by Staff

12 Facts About Prince Edward Island

Latest numbers of COVID-19 cases in Canada